Skip to main content

Religion: Religion Websites

This LibGuide aims to help you, the user, understand how to better use your academic library. We have highlighted several different services that the library offers in order to give students an overview of the different resources.

Career Search

Occupational Outlook Handbook: US Bureau of Labor Statistics http://www.bls.gov/ooh/
The OOH can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations.

Religion Online

Religion Online (Click Here)

Religion

Religion

  • http://www.thearda.com/ - Association of Religious Data Archives - "The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion...the initial archive was targeted at researchers interested in American religion. The targeted audience and the data collection have both greatly expanded since 1998, now including American and international collections and developing features for educators, journalists, religious congregations, and researchers."
  • http://www.bbc.co.uk/religion/religions/ - BBC Religions -  BBC Religions provides the reader with overviews, information on beliefs, customs, history, holidays, ethics, people, texts, worship, and more for several different religions.
  • http://www.pepperdine.edu/sponsored/ccl/ - Conference on Christianity and Literature -  The Conference on Christianity and Literature is an interdisciplinary society dedicated to exploring the relationships between Christianity and literature. Organized formally in 1956, CCL is dedicated to both scholarly excellence and collegial exchange and includes hundreds of members from a variety of academic institutions and religious traditions from the United States, Canada, and more than a dozen other countries. 
  • http://www.deadseascrolls.org.il/ - Dead Sea Scrolls Online - The Israel Antiquities Authority (IAA) is very proud to present the Leon Levy Dead Sea Scrolls Digital Library, a free online digitized virtual library of the Dead Sea Scrolls. Hundreds of manuscripts made up of thousands of fragments – discovered from 1947 and until the early 1960’s in the Judean Desert along the western shore of the Dead Sea – are now available to the public online. The high resolution images are extremely detailed and can be accessed through various search options on the site.
  • http://www.elca.org/ - Evangelical Lutheran Church in America - This website provides information on ELCA beliefs, history, ministry, vocation, education, discipleship, faith in action, and other resources.  
  • http://www.exegesispaper.com/ - Exegesis Papers: How to Write ThemThis website has been designed to take you through the steps of understanding what Exegesis is and how to write a scholarly Exegesis paper. The site pages above are sequential and are intended to take you on a successful journey of writing an Exegesis paper.
  • http://www.pewforum.org/2012/12/18/global-religious-landscape-exec/ - The Global Religious Landscape - Pew - "The demographic study explores the size, geographic distribution and median age of eight major religious groups – including the unaffiliated – that together represent 100% of the estimated 2010 global population. The study is based on a country-by-country analysis of data from more than 2,500 national censuses, large-scale surveys and official population registers that were collected, evaluated and standardized by the Pew Forum’s demographers and other research staff."
  • http://www.sacred-texts.com/ - Internet Sacred Text Archive - "This site is a freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics. Texts are presented in English translation and, where possible, in the original language. This site has no particular agenda other than promoting religious tolerance and scholarship."
  • http://bible.oremus.org/ - Oremus Bible Browser -  This is an easy to use Bible search tool that allows users to search by verse, chapter, book, or phrase.  Searchable versions include the NRSV, The Common Worship Psalter, The ASB Psalter (The Liturgical Psalter), The Authorized Version or King James Version of 1611. 
  • http://www.pewforum.org/ - The Pew Forum - "The Pew Research Center’s Forum on Religion & Public Life, launched in 2001, seeks to promote a deeper understanding of issues at the intersection of religion and public affairs. The Pew Forum conducts surveys, demographic analyses and other social science research on important aspects of religion and public life in the U.S. and around the world. It also provides a neutral venue for discussions of timely issues through roundtables and briefings."
  • http://www.pewforum.org/files/2012/12/globalReligion-tables.pdf - Religious Composition by Country: Global Religious Landscape - A table to at lays out various religions around the world.
  • http://religions.pewforum.org/reports - Statistics on Religion in America Report - Pew - "An extensive new survey by the Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life details statistics on religion in America and explores the shifts taking place in the U.S. religious landscape."

Philosophy

Philosophy

  • http://www.apaonline.org - American Philosophical Association - "The American Philosophical Association was founded in 1900 to promote the exchange of ideas among philosophers, to encourage creative and scholarly activity in philosophy, to facilitate the professional work and teaching of philosophers, and to represent philosophy as a discipline. Having grown from a few hundred members to over 10,000, the American Philosophical Association is one of the largest philosophical societies in the world and the only American philosophical society not devoted to a particular school or philosophical approach."
  • http://www.amphilsoc.org/ - American Philosophical Society - "The APS is the nation's oldest learned society, founded by Benjamin Franklin in 1743. The Society promotes useful knowledge in the sciences and humanities through excellence in scholarly research, professional meetings, publications, library resources, and community outreach."
  • http://www.iep.utm.edu/  - Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy - "The purpose of the IEP is to provide detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The Encyclopedia is free of charge and available to all users of the Internet world-wide." 
  • http://philsci-archive.pitt.edu/ - The Phil-Sci Archive - The PhilSci Archive is " an electronic archive for preprints in the philosophy of science. It is offered as a free service to the philosophy of science community. The goal of the archive is to promote communication in the field by the rapid dissemination of new work."
  • http://philosophy.eserver.org/ - Philosophy Collection - "This collection contains canonical philosophic texts and links to scholarly philosophic organizations. The English Server has other collections in addition, however, in critical theory, history, and in eighteenth century studies, which also address philosophical interests and concerns."
  • http://philsci.org/ - Philosophy of Science Association - "The Philosophy of Science Association promotes research, teaching, and free discussion of issues in the philosophy of science from diverse standpoints. To this end, the PSA engages in activities such as: the publishing of periodicals, essays and monographs; sponsoring conventions and meetings; and awarding prizes for distinguished work in the field."

Richland Library- Tutor Services for RELIGION purposes

Tutor services offered by Richland Library!

Tutor.com