Skip to main content

Religion: I. Religion Databases

This LibGuide aims to help you, the user, understand how to better use your academic library. We have highlighted several different services that the library offers in order to give students an overview of the different resources.

History Databases & eBook

Academic Search Premier 

 
JSTOR 

JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. JSTOR is a highly selective digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources. JSTOR provides access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost)

This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.

 

Religion Databases & Encyclopedia

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

EBSCOhost Web

Offers diverse content, which will assist students in performing a more thorough investigation of their research topics. It is a valuable resource for the library, supporting core curriculum, degree requirements and effective classes. This scholarly collection includes embedded images and provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study-including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies. 

It features: 

- Full text for over 1,250 journals with many dating back to 1990

- Abstracts and indexing for nearly 2,880 scholarly journals with many dating back to 1984

-Over 1,000 journals with images

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia 

For students and adults alike, the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains various images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas. This database is updated annually.

Google Scholar

Google scholar 

Is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. 

OPAC Discovery

Please check out the OPAC Discovery for additional resources (click on hyperlink below):

OPAC Discovery