LibGuides: African American Studies Resources: Welcome!

Graduate Programs

University of California at Berkley
The department began in 1970, as a unit within the newly established special program of Ethnic Studies, comprised of African American Studies, Asian American Studies, Chicano Studies, and Native American Studies. An A.B. Degree has been offered in African American Studies since 1973. The department is internationally recognized as a pioneer in the area of African Diaspora Studies.
Harvard University Department of African American Studies
The Department of African and African American Studies offers graduate programs in the fields of African American studies and of African Studies. The aim of the African American studies program is to combine an interdisciplinary training in African American cultural and social studies with a focus in a major disciplinary field, leading to the PhD in African American Studies. The aim of the African studies program is to offer rigorous interdisciplinary training in the humanities and the social sciences, with a focus in a disciplinary field, leading to the PhD in African Studies.
UNC Department of African, African American, and Diaspora Studies
Our department provides rich cross-cultural, historic, and contemporary analyses of sociopolitical and economic realities lived by Africans and those in the African Diaspora.

Our areas of study include: Politics and History; Literature; Linguistics; Anthropology; Gender and Sexuality; Pop Culture, Art, and Music; and Law.
The Carter G. Woodson Institute for African American and African studies at the University of Virginia
Through its internationally acclaimed residential fellowship program, the Woodson Institute offers Pre- and Post-doctoral scholars pursuing research of topical interest a diverse intellectual community promoting scholarly exchange and support. Selected through an intense international competition, the Woodson fellows are a diverse group of young scholars from different disciplines in the humanities and social sciences who work on a wide array of topics in African American and African Studies and related fields. Over the course of its twenty-five year history, the Institute has sponsored more than 125 scholars whose work has appeared in numerous books and articles published by the foremost university presses and academic journals. In addition to advancing the research goals of the Institute, the presence of these fellows has enriched the number and range of course offerings available within the undergraduate curriculum and has been instrumental in faculty recruitment at U.Va.
Emory University Department of African American Studies
Dedicated to the histories, cultures, and political movements of black communities across the United States and the wider African diaspora, African American Studies at Emory University pursues academic excellence and social responsibility through interdisciplinary scholarship, transformational pedagogy, and engagement with local, national, and international communities of African descent.
University of Florida African American Studies
The program was established in 1969 and enrolled its first students during the fall 1970 semester. In 1971, the program awarded the first certificate in African American Studies, but during that year UF only had 3 African American faculty members out of a total 2,600 faculty members and only 387 black students, including “foreign” black students. In 2006, the program began offering an African American Studies minor as well as an African American Studies major.

After many years of efforts, the university now has a black student enrollment of less than ten percent and a black faculty presence of less than five percent. Although many things have been accomplished in the program and concerning the increased enrollment/employment of African American students, faculty, and staff, many challenges remain.
Weselyn University African American Studies
The African American Studies Program at Wesleyan offers a dynamic interdisciplinary approach to the study of people of African descent in the Black Atlantic world, especially in the United States and in the Caribbean. The major enables undergraduates to bring the methodologies, theories, and insights of diverse disciplines to bear on their studies of the history, literature, politics, culture, and art of peoples of African descent. Courses, which range from seminars to larger discussion classes, are informed by theoretical and empirical approaches and explore topics such as conceptualizations of race, issues of race and identity, as well as the social structures, cultural traditions, and political realities of Africans in the Diaspora.

General Resources

Archives Library Information Center
The Archives Library Information Center (ALIC) is more than a traditional library. Recognizing that our customers no longer expect to work within the walls of a library, these pages are designed to provide NARA staff and researchers nationwide with convenient access to content beyond the physical holdings of our two traditional libraries. ALIC provides access to information on American history and government, archival administration, information management, and government documents to NARA staff, archives and records management professionals, and the general public.
Black Past
BlackPast.org, an online reference center makes available a wealth of materials on African American history in one central location on the Internet. These materials include an online encyclopedia of over 4,000 entries, the complete transcript of more than 300 speeches by African Americans, other people of African ancestry, and those concerned about race, given between 1789 and 2016, over 140 full text primary documents, bibliographies, timelines and six gateway pages with links to digital archive collections, African and African American museums and research centers, genealogical research websites, and more than 200 other website resources on African American and global African history. Additionally, 100 major African American museums and research centers and over 400 other website resources on black history are also linked to the website, as are nine bibliographies listing more than 5,000 major books categorized by author, title, subject, and date of publication. It also features a Perspectives Online Magazine which features commentary of important but little known events in black history often written by the individuals who participated in or witnessed them. To date more than 100 articles have appeared. The compilation and concentration of these diverse resources allows BlackPast.org to serve as the "Google" of African American history.
African American Biographical Database
The African American Biographical Database is a resource of first resort when you are looking for biographical information, including photographs and illustrations, for African Americans. From the famous to the everyday person, AABD includes profiles and full-text sketches providing both biographical detail and illuminating narratives chronicling the lives of Black Americans.
Black Loyalist
Black Loyalist is a repository of historical data about the African American loyalist refugees who left New York between April and November 1783 and whose names are recorded in the Book of Negroes. In this first stage, the site concentrates on providing biographical and demographic information for the largest cohort, about 1000 people from Norfolk Virginia and surrounding counties.
The History Channel's: A guide to researching African American Roots
The publication of author Alex Haley’s 1976 Pulitzer Prize-winning family saga ROOTS and the subsequent 1977 ABC miniseries inspired millions to investigate their own family lineages. In the ensuing four decades, interest in genealogy has only grown, and advances in record digitization and DNA testing have opened new doors for tracing African-American family trees. As HISTORY introduces ROOTS to a new generation, explore the latest tools available for anyone researching their slave ancestors.

Welcome!

Welcome to the J.S. Flipper Library's African American Studies Resource Guide!

HBCUs

Historically black colleges and universities (HBCUs) are institutions of higher education in the United States that were established before 1964 with the intention of primarily serving the African American community.^[1] They have always allowed admission to students of all races. Most were created in the aftermath of the American Civil War and are in the former slave states, although a few notable exceptions exist.

There are 107 HBCUs in the United States, including public and private institutions, community and four-year institutions, medical and law schools. ---Wikipedia

Allen University
Allen University is a private, coeducational historically Black university located in Columbia, South Carolina, United States. Allen University has over 600 students and still serves a predominantly Black constituency. Wikipedia
Alabama A&M University
Alabama A&M University is a public, historically black, land-grant university located in Normal, Alabama, United States. Wikipedia
Alabama State University
Alabama State University, founded 1867, is a historically black university located in Montgomery, Alabama. ASU is a member-school of the Thurgood Marshall College Fund. Wikipedia
Albany State University
Albany State University is a four-year, state-supported, historically black university located in Albany, Georgia, United States. It is one of three HBCUs in the University System of Georgia. Wikipedia
Winston Salem State University
Winston-Salem State University, a constituent institution of the University of North Carolina, is a historically black public research university located in Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States. Wikipedia
North Carolina A&T State University
North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University is a public, coeducational, historically black, research university located in Greensboro, North Carolina, United States. WikipediA