Skip to main content

Music: Music Websites

This LibGuide aims to help you, the user, understand how to better use your academic library. We have highlighted several different services that the library offers in order to give students an overview of the different resources.

Careers for Music lovers

Occupational Outlook Handbook: US Bureau of Labor Statistics http://www.bls.gov/ooh/

Careers for Music lovers :(click hyperlink)

The OOH can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations.

Music Research

Music Research :(click hyperlink)

An introduction to music research, we have gathered together materials to allow you to explore the ways in which music may be researched. After thinking about different kinds of musical knowledge and their relationship with various musical practices (including performance, composition, and listening), you'll be introduced to some of the digital resources and methodologies that inform music research. 

Music Websites

Great Performances (Click Here)

International Music Score Library Project (Click Here) : For sheet music

MusRef (Click Here) : A site devoted to music and dance bibliography and reference.

Writing Concert Program Notes (Click Here) : A guide to writing concert notes discusses what concert notes are, how they should be formatted (length, style), plagiarism, texts and translations, and recommends musical resources for those writing program notes. 

Music Theory Resources

Music Theory Resources

  • http://www.musictheory.net/ - Music Theory.net - Work your way through lessons and exercises covering basic music theory concepts, rhythm & meter, scales & key signatures, intervals, chords & chord progressions.  The website also includes a link to an iPhone app.  
  • http://www.mtosmt.org/ - Music Theory Online - "Music Theory Online, a Journal of Criticism, is the refereed, electronic journal of the Society for Music Theory. Published several times each year, each volume of MTO includes features such as articles, reviews, commentaries, and analytical essays. In addition, MTO publishes a list of job opportunities and abstracts of recently completed dissertations." 

World Music Resources

World Music Resources 

  • ‚Äčhttp://www.loc.gov/library/libarch-digital.html - Library of Congress Digital Collections and Services - "Access to print, pictorial and audio-visual collections and other digital services."
  • http://www.american-music.org/ - Society for American Music - "The Society for American Music is dedicated to the study, teaching, creation and dissemination of all musics in the Americas. As a scholarly, collegial, and inclusive organization, we serve a wide and diverse array of academics, librarians, composers, performers and members of the general public. "
  • http://worldmusiccentral.org/ - World Music Central - "World Music Central is an online magazine dedicated to World Music."

Richland Library- Tutor Services for MUSIC purposes

Tutor services offered by Richland Library!

Tutor.com

Musicology

Musicology :(click hyperlink)

Musicology is so broad that it’s difficult to define without restricting it. Although many musicologists are also trained in performance, it isn’t a performance-oriented field. Instead, musicology focuses on the history and cultural contexts of music.

New Groves Online

Oxford Music: New Groves Online :(click hyperlink)

Welcome to Oxford Music Online

  • The gateway to Grove Music Online, with access to search The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music
  • The authoritative resource for music research with over 57,000 articles written by over 6,000 scholars charting the diverse history and cultures of music around the globe
  • Have questions about how to use the redesigned website? Check out our Help page for a video demo and detailed instructions or read through our FAQs.