Skip to main content

Music: I. Music Databases

This LibGuide aims to help you, the user, understand how to better use your academic library. We have highlighted several different services that the library offers in order to give students an overview of the different resources.

Music Databases & eBook

Academic Search Premier 

 
JSTOR 

JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. JSTOR is a highly selective digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources. JSTOR provides access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost)

This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.

 

OPAC Discovery

Please check out the OPAC Discovery for additional resources (click on hyperlink below):

OPAC Discovery 

NAXOS YouTube Videos

NAXOS YouTube Videos - Videos to help you use the NAXOS iPhone app, playlists, sheet music library, and more.

Online Music Databases

Online Music Databases

  • http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/browse/ListSome.php?category=Performing%20Arts,%20Music - American Memory, Library of Congress - Browse musical collections from the Performing Arts, Music collection of the Library of Congress. Many give background information on the collection, and some include digital images of the scores.  
  • http://www.aria-database.com/ - The Aria Database - "The Aria Database is a collection of information about opera and operatic arias. Besides providing basic information about each aria, the Database includes translations for many arias and aria texts for those that are not affected by copyright restrictions. The Database also provides access to a collection of operatic sound files to give visitors an idea of what each aria sounds like. In addition, the Aria Database contains information on available scores and sound files that can be purchased to aid in study and enjoyment. Currently, the Database holds information on the complete operatic aria collections of Mozart, Verdi, Berlioz, Wagner, and Puccini as well as the partial collections of over 50 other composers."
  • http://artsongcentral.com/ - Art Song Central - "Art Song Central is principally an archive and directory of free, printable sheet music for singers and voice teachers. An emphasis is placed on standard classical and traditional repertoire. Thousands of songs are referenced in the Sources directory, all of which are either instantly downloadable as part of a collection or in process of being added to the site. One can either browse the sources, or search the site for a specific song." 
  • http://webapp1.dlib.indiana.edu/operatv/index.html - Televised Opera and Musical Comedy Database - "The Televised Opera and Musical Comedy Database documents more than a half-century of opera, operetta, and musical comedy telecasts produced in the United States. The database traces performance programming from early live presentations on experimental TV stations to current productions released on broadcast and closed circuit television, various cable forms, webcasts and home video. The database describes complete, abridged, and excerpted nationally and regionally distributed TV productions of operas, operettas, and musicals produced in the United States." 
  • http://library.brown.edu/cds/sheetmusic/ww1/ - World War I Sheet Music - "The World War I digital sheet music collection is drawn from the Sheet Music Collection at the John Hay Library. It is composed of over 1,800 titles that relate in some way to the events of World War I, and the impact of that war on American society. There are patriotic songs, songs relating to specific military units, romantic songs of love and loss, comic songs, and songs that look to the war’s end."

Google Scholar

Google scholar 

Is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. 

Locating Concert Reviews

MasterFILE Premier (EBSCOhost) -- Find reviews of musical concerts and performances featuring classical music, jazz, rock, and more.

Music Databases & Encyclopedia

Academic Search Complete 

Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

EBSCOhost Web

Offers diverse content, which will assist students in performing a more thorough investigation of their research topics. It is a valuable resource for the library, supporting core curriculum, degree requirements and effective classes. This scholarly collection includes embedded images and provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study-including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies. 

It features: 

- Full text for over 1,250 journals with many dating back to 1990

- Abstracts and indexing for nearly 2,880 scholarly journals with many dating back to 1984

-Over 1,000 journals with images

ERIC

ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia 

For students and adults alike, the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains various images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas. This database is updated annually.