Skip to main content

History: History Websites

This LibGuide aims to help you, the user, understand how to better use your academic library. We have highlighted several different services that the library offers in order to give students an overview of the different resources.

Career Search

Occupational Outlook Handbook: US Bureau of Labor Statistics http://www.bls.gov/ooh/
The OOH can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations.

History Websites

Best of History : (Click Here) 

General History Resources : (Click Here) 

History Matters : (Click Here) 

 

 

American History Resources

American History Resources

  • http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html - American Memory Collection at the Library of Congress - "American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
  • http://go.fold3.com/blackhistory_civilwar/?xid=1577 - Black History in the Civil War - The documents in this collection illustrate the important role African Americans played during the war and stories vital to understanding American history.
  • http://docsouth.unc.edu/browse/collections.html - Documenting the American South - "Documenting the American South (DocSouth) includes sixteen thematic collections of primary sources for the study of southern history, literature, and culture." 
  • http://historymatters.gmu.edu/ - History Matters at GMU - "Designed for high school and college teachers and students of U.S. history survey courses, this site serves as a gateway to web resources and offers unique teaching materials, first-person primary documents, and guides to analyzing historical evidence." 
  • http://www.archives.gov/  - National Archives of the United States - "The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever."
  • http://americanhistory.si.edu/ - National Museum of American History, Smithsonian - "The Smithsonian's National Museum of American History dedicates its collections and scholarship to inspiring a broader understanding of our nation and its many peoples." Browse collections online and view images of artifacts.
  • http://ourdocuments.gov - Our Documents -  "We invite all Americans to participate in a series of events and programs to get us thinking, talking and teaching about the rights and responsibilities of citizens in our democracy. At the heart of this initiative are 100 milestone documents of American history."   
  • http://www.loc.gov/exhibits/religion/religion.html - Religion and the Founding of the American Republic - "This exhibition demonstrates that many of the colonies that in 1776 became the United States of America were settled by men and women of deep religious convictions who in the seventeenth century crossed the Atlantic Ocean to practice their faith freely." 
  • http://www.pbs.org/wnet/slavery/resources/index.html - Slavery and the Making of America (PBS) - "Over the past few decades, the study of slavery has become a central theme in scholarship on African-Americans and on the history of the United States... Explore some of these sources and broaden your perspective on this significant period in American history."
  • http://teachingamericanhistory.org/ - Teaching American History -  "Learn more about American history by going back to the original source documents, from the founding through the 20th century and beyond."
  • http://www.ushmm.org/learn/holocaust-encyclopedia - United States Holocaust Museum - Holocaust Encyclopedia - "Organized by theme, this site uses text, historical photographs, maps, images of artifacts, and audio clips to provide an overview of the Holocaust." 

Richland Library- Tutor Services for HISTORY purposes

Tutor services offered by Richland Library!

Tutor.com