Skip to main content

Social Science: III. Open Access Resources

Open Access Social Science Databases

American Factfinder

The U.S. Census Bureau's gateway to find demographic and economic information, data, and maps from U.S. Federal decennial censuses and the American Community Survey.

 

Child Welfare Information Gateway

Provided by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services Administration for Children & Families, the Child Welfare Information Gateway offers a library of articles on child welfare and adoption issues. Many but not all articles are available online for free. 

 

Federal Digital System

The U.S. Government Printing Office provides links to freely available government hearings, reports, public and private laws, the Federal Register and the U.S Code.

 

Library of Congress

The Library of Congress E-Resources Online Catalog is a catalog for discovering and gaining access to electronic research tools (e-resources). The catalog includes licensed resources and free resources on the Web recommended by the Library of congress reference staff. 

 

SAMSHA Guide to Evidence Based Practices

Browse lists of web sites which address specific subject areas related to substance abuse and mental health or browse information based on age group or setting.

 

Open Access Social Science Journals

BioMed Central Journals

BioMed Central is an open access publisher of over 200 free online academic journals specializing in subjects related to science, technology and medicine. Areas of interest to social workers include public health, substance abuse, Alzheimer's research and health care policy.

 

Directory of Open Access Journals

DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent. All funding is via donations, 50% of which comes from sponsors and 50% from members and publisher members. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available.

 

Journal of the Social Sciences

RSF: The Russell Sage Foundation Journal of the Social Sciences is a peer-reviewed, open-access journal of original empirical research articles by both established and emerging scholars. It is designed to promote cross-disciplinary collaborations on timely issues of interest to academics, policymakers, and the public at large. Each issue is thematic in nature and focuses on a specific research question or area of interest.

 

The Journal of Modern History

As a leader in scholarly publishing, the University of Chicago Press embraces its obligation to disseminate scholarship of the highest standard and to foster scholarly conversation within and across traditional disciplines. 

 

Journal of Social Work Values and Ethics

Open access journal published by White Hat Communications.

 

Studies in Social Justice

"Studies in Social Justice publishes articles on issues dealing with the social, cultural, economic, political, and philosophical problems associated with struggles for social justice. This interdisciplinary journal aims to publish work that links theory to social change and the analysis of substantive issues."

Open Access Social Science Textbooks

College Open Textbooks

The College Open Textbooks Collaborative, a collection of twenty-nine educational non-profit and for-profit organizations, affiliated with more than 200 colleges, is focused on driving awareness and adoptions of open textbooks to more than 2000 community and other two-year colleges. This includes providing training for instructors adopting open resources, peer reviews of open textbooks, and mentoring online professional networks that support for authors opening their resources, and other services.

InTechOpen Books

InTechOpen is the world's largest Science, Technology, and Medicine open access book publisher. With a goal to provide free online access to research since 2004, InTechOpen has published 3,287 books and 48,978 scientific works total by 106,589 scientists.

Open Textbook Library

The Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks.Explore the library's books to see if an open textbook fits your course's, and students', needs