Skip to main content

Social Science: I. Databases

Social Science Databases

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

Academic Search Premier

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Applied Science and Technology Full Text

Indexing and abstracts for nearly 800 core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983. Full text of articles is available from more than 220 periodicals dating back to 1997. Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties—acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more.

Credo Reference

Full text of more than 600 subject-specific encyclopedias, biographies, chronologies, and dictionaries, all from well-respected publishers.Multimedia provides 200,000+ images and audio files and nearly 100 videos.Includes Credo Topic Pages with context and vocabulary, subject orientation, and pathways to further exploration.Includes the DK Eyewitness eBooks series.Features a visual search tool (Concept Map) that displays connections between search results in a visual, interactive, easy-to-use format; enables success in finding topic ideas for assignments and expanding knowledge of a given area

EBSCOhost

Offers diverse content, which will assist students in performing a more thorough investigation of their research topics. It is a valuable resource for the library, supporting core curriculum, degree requirements and effective classes. This scholarly collection includes embedded images and provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study-including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies. 

It features: 

- Full text for over 1,250 journals with many dating back to 1990

- Abstracts and indexing for nearly 2,880 scholarly journals with many dating back to 1984

-Over 1,000 journals with images

ERIC

ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.

IOP

IOPscience is an online service for journal content published by IOP Publishing. IOPscience embraces innovative technologies to make it easier for researchers to access scientific, technical and medical content. 

JSTOR

JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. JSTOR is a highly selective digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources. JSTOR provides access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

 

Library and Information Resource Network 

History and Social Science is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1030 titles, with more than 760 available in full text. Search over 2.7M records, dating back to the mid 1980s.

 

Master File Premier

Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

 

The National Archives

The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever. Those valuable records are preserved and are available to you, whether you want to see if they contain clues about your family's history, need to prove a veteran's military service, or are researching an historical topic that interests you.

 

‚Äč