Skip to main content

Chemistry: III. Open Access Resources

Thanks for visiting the chemistry research guide from J.S. Flipper Library at Allen University, This guide will act as your gateway to resources in the Library, in research databases and online. If you have any questions, don't hesitate to Ask a Librarian

Open Access Chemistry Databases

ChemIDplus

Chemical database is a dictionary of over 400,000 chemicals (names, synonyms, and structures). ChemIDplus includes links to NLM and other databases and resources, including links to federal, state and international agencies.

‚ÄčChemSpider

ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast access to over 58 million structures, properties, and associated information.  It is owned by the Royal Society of Chemistry.

PubChem

PubChem is organized as three linked databases within the NCBI's Entrez information retrieval system. These are PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool.

Science.gov

Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.

Toxnet

TOXNET® is a group of databases covering chemicals and drugs, diseases and the environment, environmental health, occupational safety and health, poisoning, risk assessment and regulations, and toxicology. It is managed by the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) in the Division of Specialized Information Services (SIS) of the National Library of Medicine (NLM). 

 

 

Open Access Chemistry Journals

Science Direct

Combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications with smart, intuitive functionality so that users can stay informed in their fields and can work more effectively and efficiently.

Springer Open Chemistry

Springer's portfolio of fully open access journals and books, covering all areas of science. The entire content published with SpringerOpen is freely accessible online immediately upon publication.

Free Medical Journal -Chemistry

The Free Medical Journals Site provides a list with links to free full text chemistry journals on the Internet.

HighWire

Over 2 million free full text articles and journals covering several disciplines including Chemistry

Open Access Chemistry Textbooks

OpenStax-Science Textbooks

OpenStax is a nonprofit based at Rice University, and it’s our mission to improve student access to education. Our first openly licensed college textbook was published in 2012, and our library since scaled to more than 20 books for college and AP courses used by hundreds of thousands of students.

Open Textbook Library

The Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks.Explore the library's books to see if an open textbook fits your course's, and students', needs

College Open Textbook

The College Open Textbooks Collaborative, a collection of twenty-nine educational non-profit and for-profit organizations, affiliated with more than 200 colleges, is focused on driving awareness and adoptions of open textbooks to more than 2000 community and other two-year colleges.